SABER-ULA, Universidad de Los Andes - Mérida - Venezuela >
Facultades >
Facultad de Ciencias >
Articulos, Pre-prints (Facultad de Ciencias) >


Título: Discovery of the bright trans-Neptunian object 2000 EB173
Autores: Ferrín, Ignacio
Rabinowitz, David
Deng, Ming
Snyder, J.
Ellman, N.
Vicente, B.
Rengstorf, A.
Depoy, D.
Salim, Samir
Andrews, P.
Bailyn, Charles D.
Baltay, C.
Briceño, César
Coppi, Paolo S.
Schaefer, Bradley E.
Emmet, W.
Oemler, Augustus
Sabbey, Chris N.
Shin, J.
Sabatino, Sofia
Van Altena, William F.
Vivas, K.
Abad, C.
Bongiovanni, A.
Bruzual, Gustavo
Della Prugna, F.
Herrera, D.
Magris, Gladis
Mateu, J.
Pacheco, R.
Sánchez, Ge.
Sánchez, Gu.
Schenner, H.
Stock, Jürgen
Vieira, K.
Fuenmayor, Francisco J.
Hernández, J.
Naranjo V., Orlando A.
Rosenzweig, Patricia
Secco, C.
Spavieri, Gianfranco
Gebhard, M.
Honeycutt, H.
Mufson, S.
Musser, James A.
Pravdo, Steven H.
Helin, E.
Lawrence, K.
Correo Electrónico: ferrin@ula.ve
daver@hepmail.physics.yale.edu
ming.deng@yale.edu
samir@astronomy.ohio-state.edu
bailyn@astro.yale.edu
briceno@hepmail.physics.yale.edu
coppi@astro.yale.edu
schaefer@astro.as.utexas.edu
sabbey@ast.cam.ac.uk
bruzual@astro.unibas.ch
jstock@smurfit.com.ve
naranjo@ula.ve, naranjo@telcel.net.ve
patricia@ula.ve
spavieri@ula.ve
Editor: SABER ULA
Resumen: Discovery of the bright trans-Neptunian object 2000 EB173 (Ferrin, Ignacio; Rabinowitz, David; Deng, Ming; Snyder, J.; Ellman, N.; Vicente, B.; Rengstorf, A.; Depoy, D.; Salim, Samir; Andrews, P.; Bailyn, Charles D.; Baltay, C.; Briceño, César; Coppi, Paolo S.; Schaefer, Bradley E.; Emmet, W.; Oemler, Augustus; Sabbey, Chris N.; Shin, J.; Sofia, Sabatino; van Altena, William F.; Vivas, K.; Abad, C.; Bongiovanni, A.; Bruzual, Gustavo; Della Prugna, F.; Herrera, D.; Magris, Gladis; Mateu, J.; Pacheco, R.; Sánchez, Ge.; Sánchez, Gu.; Schenner, H.; Stock, J.; Vieira, K.; Fuenmayor, F.; Hernández, J.; Naranjo, O.; Rosenzweig, Patricia; Secco, C.; Spavieri, G.; Gebhard, M.; Honeycutt, H.; Mufson, S.; Musser, James A.; Pravdo, Steven H.; Helin, E.; Lawrence, K.) Abstract We describe the discovery circumstances and photometric properties of 2000 EB173, now one of the brightest trans-Neptunian objects (TNOs) with opposition magnitude mR=18.9 and also one of the largest Plutinos, found with the drift-scanning camera of the QUEST Collaboration, attached to the 1-m Schmidt telescope of the National Observatory of Venezuela. We measure B - V = 0.99 ± 0.14 and V - R = 0.57 ± 0.05, a red color observed for many fainter TNOs. At our magnitude limit mR = 20.1 ± 0.20, our single detection reveals a sky density of 0.015 (+0.034, -0.012) TNOs per deg2 (the error bars are 68% confidence limits), consistent with fainter surveys showing a cumulative number proportional to 100.5mR. Assuming an inclination distribution of TNOs with FWHM exceeding 30 deg, it is likely that one hundred to several hundred objects brighter than mR=20.1 remain to be discovered.
Fecha: 17-Jun-2004
Palabras Claves: Distribuciones autogravitantes
Astrofísica
Astrofísica teórica
Idioma: Inglés
Palabras Clave: Physics
Astrophysics
URI: http://www.saber.ula.ve/handle/123456789/16973
Aparece en colecciones:Articulos, Pre-prints (Facultad de Ciencias)
Articulos, Pre-prints (Centro de Física Fundamental (CFF))

Archivos en estos artículos:

Archivo Descripción TamañoFormato
0011527.pdf132 kBAdobe PDFVer/Abrir
resumen.htm2.07 kBHTMLVer/Abrir

Todos los artículos en Dspace están protegidos con Derecho de Autor, todos los derechos reservados, a menos que se indique lo contrario.

 

Licencia Creative Commons
Todos los documentos publicados en este repositorio se distribuyen bajo una
Licencia Creative Commons Atribución-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 3.0 Venezuela.

Repositorio Institucional de la Universidad de Los Andes, Mérida, Venezuela - Comentarios
Software DSpace Copyright © 2002-2007 MIT and Hewlett-Packard -
DSpace Add-on Statistics of RepositóriUM © University of Minho.